Watch Jóhann Jóhannsson trailer ahead of Retrospective release
25th Apr 2019

This week, Deutsche Grammophon are releasing ‘Retrospective I’, a deluxe hardcover book edition with a CD box set featuring seven of JóhannJóhannsson‘s early works including ‘The Miners’ Hymns’ (which was originally released here on 130701), ‘Copenhagen Dreams’, ‘Virðulegu Forsetar’ and a previously unreleased score ‘White Black Boy’. ‘Retrospective I’ will be released digitally and as a deluxe, seven-CD hardcover book edition.  It is the first part of a two-volume release with ‘Retrospective II’ being released in 2020, which will feature the composer’s more recent scores for Arrival and The Mercy, as well as his 2016 album Orphée.

To celebrate the release of ‘Retrospective I’, producer Áine Devaney and filmmaker Blair Alexander have made a lovely short film which traces Jóhann’s roots back to his home town of Reykjavík, Iceland to speak to some of the people who knew him best, including his parents, his former partner in Kitchen Motors, Kira Kira and fellow composer Dustin O’Halloran.

You can watch the film here.


Live Events
11 Aug Latarnia na Wenei - Gniezno, PL
06 Sep Up To Date Festival - Bialystok, PL
13 Sep Parafia Ewangelicko-Augsburska - Piotrków Trybunalski, PL
14 Sep NADA Festival - Toruń, PL
27 Sep Kenilworth Arts Festival, St. Nicholas' Church - Kenilworth, UK
12 Oct Mediateka - Tychy, PL
19 Oct Klasztor Cystersów, - Kołbacz, PL
Sylvain Chauveau
31 Aug festival Cultura Nova - Heerlen, NL
06 Sep festival Nuit couchée @ MECA - Artigues-pres-bordeaux, FR
07 Sep festival Nuit couchée @ MECA - Artigues-pres-bordeaux, FR
17 Oct Fluister - Dordrecht, NL
31 Oct Palace - Brussells, BE
19 Nov Domicil - Dortmund, DE