Shida Shahabi mixtape + interview feature on A Closer Listen
20th Oct 2018

Shida Shahabi‘s debut LP ‘Homes’ was released yesterday and the Stockholm-based pianist has made a mixtape for blogsite A Closer Listen, which runs alongside a short interview. Including material from Nadah el Shazly, Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, Can, Oneothrix Point Never  and Jóhann Jóhannsson, Shida describes the hour-long mix as a selection of “old favorites and pretty new releases that I’ve been listening to a lot recently. Music that has been inspirational instrumentation, sound, and energy wise.”

The full tracklist runs as folows:

1. Michael Behaire & Teddy Rankin Parker – Smooth Face
2. Richard Reed Parry – Quartet for Heart and Breath
3. Emahoy Tsegue-Maryam Guebrou – Evening Breeze
4. Nadah el Shazly – Palmyra
5. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Envelop
6. Marihiko Hara – Vita
7. Ellen Arkbro – Mountain of Air
8. Can – Halleluwah (Single Edit)
9. Mariah – Shisen
10. Oneothrix Point Never – Chrome Country
11. Cara Stacey – Circadian Clocks
12. Bitchin Bonne Billy Bajas – Pretty Saro
13. Jóhann Jóhannsson – Desert Music